Thread: Maybe you guys can help :-)

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

Unhappy

I do some work for Raydon,NASA and abunch of weird places as a consultant, I helped design a one pc. molded lens a month or so back and now AT&T is going to pick it up.. the problems is I need to find a coating lab that can handle a volume of lens to be coated
    I have tried 4 places so far and am running out of places :-)
    Well any idea's? BTW the first order is for 3,000 and over a year the range is going to be 500,000 to 1 million coatings..told you it was VOLUME!! :-)

Jeff

Rising Star
    Hi Jeff;
    With volume like that why would you not want to put your own coating system in. It would be much less expensive. Jim

Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

I don't think you'll find an ophthalmic coater that can handle his job. Try:

Optical Coating Labs, Inc.
    Santa Rosa, CA
    (707) 545-6440

They do a lot of large volume government work. This kind of stuff is right up their alley.

------------------
    Steve
    OptiBoard Administrator

Occupation

Steve&Jim,

Thanx..Steve I'll add that to my list of numbers..and sice you guys are behind the times (East Coast) I'll have time to get the samples and get that all set up to ship out ..
    Jim... a few reasons, one.. This is a "weird" shape so it may take a "basket" type coater..which I don't want :-)... the volume they want one machine would not take care of it all running two shifts (which I don't do now).. it's one of those deals , by the time I got enough machines to do the work and be on time then it would be profitable.. and since I only do around 20 or so AR's a week for my wholesale accounts..having all those coaters would end up being over kill!! :-)