Thread: how does the optical industry perceive master'sprograms from non traditional schools?

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

how does the optical industry perceive master'sprograms from non traditional schools?

I am sure like many of the other individuals on this forum, most of us are trying to get ahead of the game through education. I would like to seek advice on how to get ahead so I hope I am not being selfish by asking a few questions and concerns. Maybe other members of this forum can benefit from this posting.

i finished my degree from a 4 year traditional university. As my signature shows, I double majored in criminology and sociology, with a minor in history. There in lies the problem. My undergraduate degree has almost no association with the optical industry. Where I live, none of the universities do not offer a BA in optical management or any similar degrees.

I, like most if not all of the members here, am a working professional and can not sacrifice work to go to school full time. I would like to get into the marketing and business side of the field. The master's programs at traditional schools have such difficult schedules to work with when working full time. So I am currently attending the University of Phoenix on campus for my MBA with a specialization in marketing, but am having serious concerns with the validity and credibilty of this degree, especially in regards to employers within the optical industry.

We always talk about furthering educational standards for opticians in terms of certifications, and also establishing degree programs. But there has been very little talk about master's programs and what value they hold.

My question therefore stands: Is getting a master degree from a non traditional school any better than not having one at all? Do employers in this field shun potential employees with non traditional degrees as much as employers from other fields such as finance, economics, IT, etc.