Thread: Buying Online?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

Buying Online?

Before you spit fire at me, please hear me out. I'm coming to you -- the professionals and asking advice because I honestly don't know any better myself.

I'm a college student -- I work and go to school and struggle to make my rent. When I found out how much it was going to cost just to get new lenses put in my current frames, I about fell over. I don't have vision on my insurance -- but because I have some insurance, I can't get help from any of the programs that help you pay for glasses (I looked into that already). I already paid 80 dollars just to see the doctor and get my new prescription, so I can't afford 100+ just to put lenses in frames I already own! I've looked online, and the prices are much cheaper. So I'm coming here to ask what the drawbacks to ordering online are.

I've already had my eye exam, And I already know the frames I'll be using and that they fit my face perfectly.

And again, before you flame me because I'm trying to save money in a place where you make your living -- please understand that I'm literally below the poverty level at the moment. I need glasses to be able to see. I'm hoping someone will have just had a great day and be willing to dispense some advise. Perhaps we can make a trade? I'm a CS student so if you have any questions about computers I am so there. Need advise on what kind of hardware/software you actually need? Where to buy? Questions about CPUs, HDs, RAM -- hell even just a software question -- I can help you in return :) help me with my lenses and I'll help you with all your computing needs.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Jubilee's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    This subject has been fully covered a dozen times. Please search online glasses and you will see at least a dozen different threads on this theme.

Top 3:
    Fit
    quality
    Service