Thread: Screw problem

OptiBoard Novice

Question Screw problem

I am new to this and have a basic question which probably has dozen answers...

Basically, I cannot remove a screw from a metal frame. When I tried to push the screwdriver harder, the screw was chipping and I am afraid to go any further.

I heard that there is some liquid/oil that can be poured on a screw to ease it... is this true and are there any suggestions for how to deal with tough screws?

Many Thanks!

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Liquid Wrench, available at any hardware store. Won't work for a screw that has been peened though (bottom end spread to prevent coming out). If screw has been peened you must carefully grind off the bottom (the part without a screwdriver slot) and then un-screw. If you get lucky enough even this won't work and you have to drill it out (really hard if the screw if of very hard material, one tends to either drill crooked, or slip off screw and drill a hole in frame or your finger.

Chip

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    Quote Originally Posted by Eyewearer
    I am new to this and have a basic question which probably has dozen answers...

Basically, I cannot remove a screw from a metal frame. When I tried to push the screwdriver harder, the screw was chipping and I am afraid to go any further.

I heard that there is some liquid/oil that can be poured on a screw to ease it... is this true and are there any suggestions for how to deal with tough screws?

Many Thanks!
    Before you mess up the head of the screw too much, heat the frame in a frame warmer. this might loosen the laquer finish on the frame allowing the screw to turn more easily. (Assuming as Chip said, the screw is not peened).