Thread: Trifocal vs. Bifocal

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

Trifocal vs. Bifocal

Hello all, I am a contact lens tech, so I decided to come here for some spec advice.
    My Mom has had numerous problems with progressive lenses. After switching materials, and numerous other attempts from the optician she is working with, she has decided to go to bifocals or trifocals. So her question is, when switching from a progressive lens, which would be the best for her to switch to, bifocal or trifocal? Could you give me the pro's and con's of each? I would like give her as much info as possible. Thanks!

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Your Mom probably needs a trifocal. If she gets only a bifocal, she will lose the intermediate zone and not be able to see at an arms length distance. A bifocal has focal points which are very near and far away. A trifocal has those plus an extra segment for the "arms length" distance. (which would be for a computer and such) Visit a reputable Optician and they can, based on her prescription, explain things a bit further. Without all the specifics, it's hard to say exactly what she needs.

OptiBoard Professional Mike Fretto's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician