Thread: Eyewear For Pilots

Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Eyewear For Pilots

On April 20, 2006 I read a post entitled “Progressives for pilots; other questions to ask?” (http://www.optiboard.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16855&highlight=pilot) and prepared a learned dissertation on the subject of eyewear for pilots and other flight deck personnel. Imagine my disappointment when I went to post it and found the thread had been closed. Well if you think I am going to just delete this post you are nuts. Here it is under it’s own thread.

I have been flying since 1955 and have been working in the eye care field since 1969. I have over 7000 hours of flight time both military and civilian. I have a moderate degree of simple hyperopic astigmatism. Until I retired from the eye care vineyard four years ago I have worn every multifocal product on the market. I have found only two solutions to my visual needs while flying and I will confine my remarks to that task only. I will also add that I have presented this solution to many others who I share the air space with and they all agree that this is the best way to go.

First of all, the visual needs on the flight deck/cockpit are quite unique. In particular, all aviators must develop and maintain a scan of the flight instruments without any head movement. Moving the head from side to side or up and down can induce vertigo and possible disorientation which, under instrument conditions can lead to dire consequences. It is quite possible too that body movements may be restricted by seat restraints.

Secondly, there are times when both hands and feet are quite busy and trying to reposition the glasses can really make things interesting.

Third, the environment on each aircraft is different, that is to say, some aircraft have stuff overhead at 12” or down on the deck at 30” and don’t you know, lighting is not always the greatest.