Thread: Anyone who had trouble with ABO

OptiBoard Novice

Anyone who had trouble with ABO

I have taken the ABO twice and failed both times.I have been working in the Optical industry for 4 years,and I feel like my failure was due mainly to lack of study time (I'm the mother of 2,a coach,volunteer,as well as working full time).My question is:has anyone else on the board had past troubles with this exam?I really need some advice on how to pass this time.I feel that I know the material,but I'm SO STRESSED!My family cannot afford to lose another $135,but I don't think I can afford NOT to at least TRY to pass it.I'm looking mainly for studying/memory/focus strategies that might help me.Thank you.

Occupation
    Optometrist
    What part of the exam are you having difficulty with? Also, I see from another post that you work at lenscrafters. Ask your manager if you could work in the lab a bit...that will help with the prism, decentration, and other practical questions that floor associates may not be well versed in.

AA

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Inadequate Training......

is a problem throughout the optical industry. Opticians are "apprenticed" to an individual who is tasked with training them, but unfortunately if your trainer knows very little.....you get the picture. The stress can be greatly reduced if you feel you have been prepared, and in reality the NOCE (so-called ABO) is a basic, entry-level test. I would advise you to get some of the study materials available from NAO (www.nao.org), in particular Michael DiSanto's stuff. Also, the Career Progression Program is a great benefit. Another way to assure success next time is to find a good mentor in your area. Let me know through a personal email your exact location and I'll see if we can find someone to guide your progress.