Thread: Text readability on monitors - Background and Foreground colors

OptiBoard Novice

Question Text readability on monitors - Background and Foreground colors

Hello,

I'm a journalist and novels writer and as a result of my job I spend a long time reading texts on the computer. Some days up to 9-10 hours a day.

As a result of this, obviously my eyes get very tired at the end of the day.

I would like to minimize the impact of this. I would like to know, or if you can point me towards some research or papers about the best way to read texts on a computer monitor.

To be more precise, I'd like to know what are the background and foreground (text) colors that work best to minimize strain in the eyes.

I have heard that absolute black against yellow works good, but I have also heard that it could be black on grey background. I'm confused. RGB values instead of color names would be prefered.

Thanks

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Go to your local optical shop and ask for a PC Peeker. $25.00 Use it, your troubles will go away.

OptiBoard Novice
    Hi Chip, thanks for your reply.

What's a PC Peeker?

I have done a bit of googling and haven't found anything relevant I'm afraid.

Is that available in England, UK? Else I might want to contact the distributor if that's really worth it.

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    PC Peeker is a little devise that slips behind your glasses. Makes your upper vision focus at the PC. leaves bifocal (lower part of glasses ) the same as it was for reading printed text. Also allows your glasses to continue to correct for astigmatism, etc.

Don't know about UK availablility, if you can't find one. I will send you one as they are small and light, shipping shouldn't be much of a problem.

Of course this assumes you wear full spectales are 40 years of age or more.