Thread: Old Computer Regenerated!!!!

Occupation
    Optical Retail

Thumbs up

It's nothing to do with optics, but I feel I'd like to share it with you guys!

I'm still running an old original Pentium.

It used to be fast, and for the last year or two, it's been getting slower, it's been stalling and more regularly has been crashing out frequently ... you know what I mean, "This Program has performed an illegal or immoral operation... call your vendor etc...

I'm a good boy, I floss regularly and defrag regularly like Microsoft advise, but it doesn't help, I still have to get treatment from the dentist and my computer is still crashing, then a few days ago I was introduced to an amazing little freeware programme, "The Compound File Unfragmenter"

Now, I'm not too technical, but it turns out that running the regular optimization and defrag programmes doesn't clean up all the bits that are scattered around your hard disk especially if you have used Office and Excel a lot.

I downloaded this small prog (150k) and ran it and am absolutely amazed, apart from the 'puter behaving like new....yes...like NEW, it also found another well needed 20mb of space on the hard drive.

I've got the .zip file or you can find it on www.zdnet.com

I'm not connected....unfortunately.... with zdnet, anyway it's a free download.

If anyone knows of a programme to sort out gum problems, please let me know.

Best, Clive

[This message has been edited by Clive Noble (edited 06-18-2000).]

Thumbs up

Thanks Clive.....I'll have to check that out. My pentium II that is about a year and a half old is acting exactly like you are saying yours was. I will repost after I try it out and let ya know if it helped me too.

WOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOO.........I'm an apprentice now!!!! :D

Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

Clive,

What is the program's name? ZDNET is a pretty big site with lots of files to download. Thanks.

------------------
    Steve
    OptiBoard Administrator