Thread: Quality from the labs

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Blue Jumper Quality from the labs

Is it me or over the years, has quality has reduced from the labs that supply us - specifically in the hand skill departmment. Having spoken to a few of the bigger labs and a few smaller ones recently (I was a lab tech myself once) I realise that now with robotic formerless edging, many of the skilled staff have been pushed aside, to make way for the cheaper low skilled staff. Upon querying why a lens was not hand edged I was told the machine does it automatically now.. which is great, so long as it does do it. This would begin to explain why specifically saftey bevels look so shoddy, and in general hit and miss

What approach are other professionals taking in dealing with thier lab's, to ensure the quality?

I only ask a simple thing from the labs I use - Please make it the right power, with the right centres, well mounted and set up, clean and tidy, and safe to wear. It is so hard to get all those things in one place... am I just going to have to dust of my tech coat?

Did i say Rimless?
    Last edited by QDO1; 09-19-2005 at 02:40 PM.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    Our lab is in a store and I personnally make all the rimless myself because we just can't rely on outside parties to do a good job. Atleast if I do it myself and it breaks etc I can whip another lens up straight away.

However we very rarely send any specs to an outside source to be made as, just like the rimless, we can't trust them. So we make everything instore within the hour. Unless its something we don't stock then we get it in either a finished blank or a semi-finshed blank (depending on the blanks)