Thread: Reordering frames and shipping cost

Bad address email on file

Reordering frames and shipping cost

I am a manager of a 3 office ophthalmology practice. I would like some advice or ideas on how other people reorder their frames. Do you sell of the board and use tags to reorder? If so what type of tags do you use? How often do you re-order, and how do you keep shipping cost down? We have a very busy practice and run through frames at a fast rate, I don't want to carry excess overstock. I would like to implement a re-order procedure, but the tag system we tried was a failure. We were using arch crown tags and pulled them as we sold them. We had them separated by vender and tried to have the Opticians order bi-weekly. We do not use a computer system as of yet. Any suggestions on a manual system that works well? Also we incure alot of cost in shipping on ordering Rx frames. Does anyone have a suggestion on reducing shipping cost on these orders. Should I have a central location that all three offices send the orders to and have them ordered at one time? Any suggestions on how other offices handle this would be appreciated.

Jim

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician