Thread: Bifocal/PAL Question for the Technical Experts

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Lens Manufacturer

Wave Bifocal/PAL Question for the Technical Experts

This is my first post in many years. First off, I'm a Marketing Analyst that works for Hoya. Last year, after 17 years in the building that houses Essilor's Dallas Lab, I left and joined Hoya.

My question involves a never ending industry trend to convert as many presbyopes as possible to PALs. Recently, I have seen articles and ads in trade journals that encourage Eye Care Professionals to convert FT Bifocal wearers to PALS. In an unrelated matter, I was asked to take a look at the sphere power distribution for FT 28’s. I expected to see about a 2/3 - 1/3 spilit. Prior to taking a look at the data, I would have agreed 100% with the articles and ads, that there was a lot of potential in this segment, but the results were surprising…over 2/3 of the FT 28’s sold were plus lenses…this was the opposite of the results I was expecting. By the way, the data was the same at both lab groups.

After doing some checking I was able to piece together the following The answer was a little too technical for me, but it has to do with the visual requirements of hyperopes. It seems that they are not good candidates for PAL conversion. If any of you can explain this, so a non-optics person can understand it, I would be appreciate it.

Again, this was not a scientific study, but the conclusion was that older patients (60+ yrs) were not very likely to change, regardless of being a myope or hyperope and additionally, once the add power exceeded a certain power, they were also not good candidates for conversion.