Thread: Advise Wanted? Career change..

Bad address email on file

Question Advise Wanted? Career change..

Thanks for stopping to read this post. I am soul searching to see if I am doing the right thing. Here's the situation. I am a licensed optician in Florida. I have been with the same company since 1991. (ECCA) Most of this time I have been a General manager. I'm 36years old, married and have two kids(4 and 9 years old). I am tired of the day in and day out BS of the "Super Optical routine."

You may ask what is the problem then? This is the change I have made and was wondering if anyone else has been from one end of the spectrum to the other. I have accepted a position with Cole at Target optical. I wanted to either get out of management or to make my life less stressful. After checking several opticals this seems to meet my idea position. Slower by volume, less associates to manage and same salary. In my current job it seems like I am running all day long, not really delivering good optics to my customers due to pace of business and one associate problem after the other. Is it wrong to want more but to have to do less? To only want to account for the actions of myself and not to have to answer to the mistakes that others make?

I don't consider myself to be a slacker. You know that expression " I'm to old for this sh*&^"? Well that is how I feel. The only thing I hate is the transition period. When you are with the same company over ten years you fear changes. Lets face it, going from a store that does over $5,000 a day to a store that is lucky to do that in a week is a rather big change. Am I looking forward to taking it easier or will I be bored out of my mind? I would love to hear any of your thoughts or suggestions. Do you think this is a bad time to change to Cole due to the Luxottica buy out? Or do I just have the preemployment jitters(LOL)?

Thanks to all that respond,
    Mike Jordan

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician