Thread: "Preservative Free" Contact Lens Solution

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

"Preservative Free" Contact Lens Solution

Hi everyone,

I had a contact lens patient yesterday that said she can only wear preservative free contact lens solution and that anything with preservatives in it would burn her eyes after removal from the case and insertion. I'm thinking its more of one bad experience with one brand over another.

I am not sure what she is using now, but I told her I would try to get some names of brands that had this solution available. I have heard of like ReNu having a pres. free rewetting drops, but storage solution??

When speaking to the doctor, he said that was the first time in 3 years he had heard a patient requesting preservative-free solution specifically.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am still learning the realm of contact lenses. I would like to do something for her before her trials come in.

Thanks! Jaron

Occupation
    Ophthalmic Technician
    Clear-care by Ciba, a one step peroxide system. Our OD has been switching a lot of patients to this with a silicon lense (Purevision or Day & Night) because Calgary is so dry. You might not believe it but Calgary was less humid this winter than the Sahara desert.
    "It's not impossible. I used to bull's-eye womp rats in my T-16 back home."

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

Thumbs up Clear Care

We also use Ciba's Clear Care solution for patients that are sensitive to the preservatives in the multipurpose solutions. AOSept Clear Care is a one bottle no rub no rinse hydrogen peroxide based solution without the preservatives and harsher chemicals that the multipurpose solutions contain. We have had patients that have actually said that they feel it cleans their lenses better than renu.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor