Thread: Progressives

Bad address email on file
    New to the board here, but wanted your opinions on progressives. I graduated from OD school last summer and opened my practice. I have done them all, but patients really seem to like the Gradal Top. Varilux came by to tell me that the Panamic is better than all the rest (big surprise).

Other favorties? Thanks.

Christine

Lightbulb

Hoyalux Wide Progressive

Rising Star

SOLA, SOLA, SOLA. Always worked better for me than Varilux. Varilux cost you more and I had a larger number of non-adapts. The other problems I had with varilux was when pt's add power changed, the designed changed and they didn't like it. I like the mono design of Sola. The AO compact is great for small frames.

Bad address email on file John R's Avatar
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field
    Sola have droped a lot of products lately so things have changed a bit there and uk have brought out a new :D (not another) varifocal for shallow frames. Essilor are dropping a few of there products as well later this year it's bye bye to the old fav the V2.

------------------
    Every day a grind
    Every week a bind
    www.iooi.co.uk

Bad address email on file

Sola XL Gold
    Sara

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    My patients love the Varilux Panamic. They say it's the closest thing to single vision lenses.

Plus the warranty on it is tremendous. They have a 1 year no fault warranty. If you get the Rx wrong or mis-measure, it's replaced at no charge. How's that for service. I only uses companies that give me the same kind of service that I give my patients. No fault, no hassle service.

Yes it is expensive, but mess up a couple of lenses in the other brands and you have lost money.

The Nikon Performance Package is an excellent way to go. The patient gets a premium progressive, very durable hydrophobice A/R coating, and a guarunteed thin lens for their Rx. All at a reasonable price.