Thread: rep'ing advice

Master OptiBoarder keithbenjamin's Avatar
    Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

rep'ing advice

I've been lurking on optiboard for some time now. What an amazing repository for optical industry knowledge. Kudos to all that participate and make it possible...

:cheers:

To the point... I'm new to the industry. I've actually been in the tech industry for the past several years, but after the third company bankruptcy and over a half million layoffs in telecom over the past year, I think I'm ready to move on.

I have an opportunity to be the first sales rep for the family wholesale lab. Since I'm the first, there's no established training, procedures, etc. I'll head out to the lab for some product training, continue to study on my own, pick up every scrap I can, and probably go the LDO route (for future plans). I'm new to both optics and sales but excited about the opportunity and looking for any advice anyone might be able to provide.

Thanks!

Keith

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

LISTEN !

..... whether you call on customers or potential customers, clients who are happy with their labs or not, try to imagine that you are doing research on how to develop the "perfect" lab and see what you come up with.

If your lab is any good, forget the discount game and offer personal, friendly, professional services. Don't ignore the little guy by large volume discounts! Undersell and overdeliver!

Business is still done more by relationships than numbers.

Good Luck!

Welcome to Optiboard.
    Last edited by Homer; 04-17-2003 at 12:18 PM.

Bad address email on file
    Best of luck Keith - !