Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Light streaking through new spectacles. Even company can't solve. Please help.

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Light streaking through new spectacles. Even company can't solve. Please help.

My customer of 10 years has recently been facing a weird problem, which I've never seen in 22 years of my experience as an optician. He has been using Essilor Crizal brand Transitions lenses for 10 years, which he rebuilds every one or two years as his prescription changes. He has never faced a similar problem like he has been facing since the last time he got his lenses made.

He got a Crizal UV Transitions, which he complained after 1 month that he was facing difficulty seeing at night time due to light sources streaking in a vertical way. He showed me the spectacles, but I didn't find anything unusual. I even told him it was all in his head. But once he took me out of my shop and showed me a distant lamp post with dark sky as the background, I was more than convinced. I even felt bad how inconvenient it must have been for him wearing these lenses while driving. But in the daytime, he says everything looks perfect.

Whenever I approached Essilor about replacement, they said they couldn't find a single problem. Upon my insistence and mild threats, they replaced the lenses 'unconditionally' as they put it. But about a month later, the customer returns with the same problem. He said he used the new replacement lenses only indoors for 7 days, when there was not a single problem and the vision was perfect. But when he started taking the lens outdoors in the sun, the streaking got progressively worse with each day in the sun.

I tried to talk to Essilor again and convince them, but they told me it's all in my head, and they couldn't find anything unusual with their rigorous testing procedures. The customer even approached Essilor, but they gave him the same reply.