Thread: Design Student with questions. Lens shape, edge width, bevels etc

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Design Student with questions. Lens shape, edge width, bevels etc

Dear OptiBoard,

I hope you don't mind me crashing this forum, and understand totally if I am ignored! :)

However, I am an Industrial Design Student in the UK, trying to find out information about lenses, cutting and specifically the shapes of lenses in 3D - as well as standard edge thicknesses and bevels.

I am currently undertaking a really interesting project to design an innovative new kind of spectacles frame, but it's difficult to find out information about lenses, if they are standard shapes when produced (uncut) and when you cut them, the thicknesses of the edges of the lenses and the standard bevels that are used by opticians/retailers etc. If there's a place online that I can see all the information a link would be most appreciated, standard searches have come up empty so far! :)

I am focussing on corrections from +6 to -6 at 0.25 increments.

As a 3D designer, I want to know if there is a standard set of lens moulds that are used across the board - if there is, then it makes my 3D modelling job on the frames far simpler! If I can anticipate standard curvature of lenses within my parameters (+6 to -6), then I can easily work out how to make the frame. I don't know if this information is "standard issue", though I do know that uncut lenses are generally made to the same size - which would lead me to believe there is a standard for lenses, as the shape must be the same to get specific corrections.

It seems to me that this should be the case, as when you go to get spectacles made - no matter what your correction, you have pretty much free choice of which frames you want! Or am I missing something?! Are there some techniques that I should know about that get around this and "squeeze" lenses into specific frames?