Thread: Newbie manager needs advice

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Retail

Newbie manager needs advice

Hello I'm completely new to the optical business. I wanted to know if anyone can tell me based on the number of exams we do a year if there is a set number or formula for how many frames we should carry and an average for capture rate for glasses. Also what are the responsibilities of the licensed dispensing optician? Does the optician only sell? Is he/she supposed to bill insurance, keep track of who has purchased and picked up their glasses understand insurances? I'm not sure what to expect of my optician. Is there a whole lot of difference in expectation for someone who is licensed versus someone who is a frame stylist? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Your Optician? Interesting terminology, but good luck. Your question varies widely, but in Washington state (not the state of confusion) Opticians are licensed health care professionals. "Your" Optician should be treated as the professional they are and be supported by staff just as the other providers. In some practices, you will find little respect for "their" Optician, but learning about the positive things they bring will benefit you.

Rising Star
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    As an Optician I have to sell glasses to do that I need to be very familiar with insurances. What they provide, what the exclude, what labs they work with. It's also my job to follow up with patients regarding their orders. I guess my feeling is that if I am going to call myself an Optician I am going to do my best to know as much as I can about everything that goes on in my office. I can't think of any reason for a manager to expect any less.

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Retail