Thread: Kids and bifocals

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Kids and bifocals

I recently had a mother in with a toddler in a bifocal lens. The RX was somehwere around +16.00 and the child was in a blended bifocal. I have had no real experience with these. I have read a little bit about them and I know my doctors never want me to put a child in them. The parent was insistant on them saying that is what she has always been told that is what she needed and that she didn't want people to see her daughters bifocal. I explained why we us a lined bifocal and about how much easier it will be for her daughter to us. The only reason the doctor wanted her to get new glasses was to get her out of those bifocals. Now I am second guessing my self. Am I wrong to put kids in a ft 28 ? What would the benefits be to the blended bifocal aside from looks?

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I'm with you, Miz. Depending on the diagnosis, the kid's seg needs to bisect the pupil or come darn close to it. I don't see how a blended bifocal helps such a patient at all--the dead zone is dead ahead in their frontal gaze or else the seg is pushed low enough to defeat the purpose.

Compulsive Truthteller OptiBoard Gold Supporter Uncle Fester's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Need more information.

Sounds like premature cataracts in the kid required crystaline lens removal (congenital cataracts).

Is it?
    Last edited by Uncle Fester; 11-05-2014 at 03:45 PM. Reason: tweak...

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Fester View Post
    Need more information.

Sounds like premature cataracts required crystaline lens removal.

Is it?
    I don't know for sure without looking at the chart but I assume so.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    So if I read the post right the MD wants segmented bifocals. This I assume is to eliminate the blur zone and allow the near vision to develop.