Thread: Perfect Frames Forever?

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

Perfect Frames Forever?

So, a patient brought up an interesting question, and since I'm a novice compared to the collective knowledge of the board, I thought I'd pass it along before offering an answer of my own. He's a sort of engineering minded, hyper-efficient, "make it last" variety, and believes in utilizing something until it's outlived its usefulness. Theoretically, he asked, if he were going to have to invest in a single pair of frames for an extended period of time, what sort should he choose? Essentially, treating them like an automobile and new lenses like oil changes-- pick one pair and stick with them for a decade and relens them as necessary. What would be the most efficient choice-- make, model, style? If you had to choose a single pair of frames to get you through the next decade, what would they be?

Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician
    for me, stainless steel.

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Lindberg Air Rim/Spirit models. Pure titanium, no screws or solder points. We actually have patients re-lensing 6-8-even 10 year old frames.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I would choose a 3 piece drilled rimless, I've had people go 6-12 years with the same chassis and using the car anology, something unexpected can break and it's a whole lot easier to change one part then the whole thing (because outside of some 3 piece designs I can't think of any frame that existed 7-8 years ago that I can still get parts or a whole new frame now without a warehouse search and luck)

Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    Acquired a Tura Mr. T in 1970 and it has had lens up grades every two or three years since then. I still wear it on formal occasions a few times each month.

It looks like new and its anodized aluminum should last forever.