Thread: Help is needed with training technique for neutalising lenses

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Help is needed with training technique for neutalising lenses

I have the wonderful job of helping several women who have been traditional receptionists in optometric practices to learn to neutralise lenses. I've noticed that several of the women over 40 have difficulty using their progressive spectacles to see properly into the vertometer. Does anyone have any tips for teaching progressive wearers to neautralise accurately?

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Mary Sue,
    I have been wearing progressives for about 7 years. The only thing I know for sure is that it works better to leave both eyes open when focusing though the eyepiece of the vertometer. After some practise, the brain ignores the message from the eye that isn't at the eyepiece. Please teach them how to find the identifier marks on progressive lenses and to look up the lenses in a lens guide to make sure that they are reading them in the right area and that they are not reading the lenses off axis or off power as single vision lenses.
    Good luck with your class!
    jP

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Question

Jenny

We always mark up our progressives before we begin neutralising, and use an international lens identification guide to determine exactly what they are wearing.

The problem I am encountering is that the ladies I am they are using very short corridor progressive lenses, like the Nikon Presio I. Using this lens, they are unable to find a place on the lens where their accomodation isn't over or under compensating - which means their accuracy is off by as much as .50 dioptres.

I have put one of the students into a D28 and it seems to remedy the situation, but this is an expensive endeavour.

Does anyone else know of this problem or experience it themselves as a progressive wearer? Any solutions?

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician