Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best lens options for different categories of patients

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

Confused Best lens options for different categories of patients

About me:
    Hi. I'm a lab tech from Canada. I've been working in optical for just over a year.

My Issue:
    A few weeks ago I discovered this forum, and so far I've learnt more about progressives here in a total of a few short hours than in the whole past year from all other sources combined:P. Before finding this board most of the information I got about lenses came from two sources: the opticians' that I work with experience's with various lenses, and sales reps for various companies. Much of what I've been told is... conflicting, to say the least.

Sales reps keep telling me that "digital lenses are wider than conventional!!1eleven1!!", but they can't tell me what "digital" means, nor can most of them even take a shot in the dark about what "freeform" means. I tells ya, Essilor trains their reps well. They also tell me things like "this lens always works for everyone!" I know a sales pitch when I hear it, but I need some help getting to the truth.

My Takeway:
    After a few hours of reading threads about lenses and coatings and the like, here are a few things that I think I've gathered:

1. "Digital" doesn't mean much of anything.
    2. Essilor is evil.
    3. "Freeform" can mean almost anything, and what it means depends on what company you're talking to.
    4. What freeform probably *should* mean is "the add power is ground into the lens, not molded onto the front". Close? Yes? No? Maybe? Both? Neither? Quantum superposition of all those options?
    5. Essilor is attempting to take over the world one banana stand at a time.
    6. Digital/Freeform lenses are often very narrow in the intermediate (moreso than conventional lenses?), despite the sales reps claims.