Thread: Hello, taking ABO soon!

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

Hello, taking ABO soon!

Hello! I hope you don't mind a long, slightly anxious first post.

I am re-entering the field after being a stay at home mom of two active boys for 9 years. Long story short, I graduated from the Opticianry program at Roane State Community College in May 2004. Gave birth to son 1 in Aug. 2004, gave birth to son 2 July 2007. Didn't take ABO, NCLE, or state practical while in school, so not liscensed... yet. Yeah, it's been a while, but I have dusted off the notes, talked with the head of the Opticianry program, hung out in the classroom some, and have been studying to take the ABO. It's mostly come back to me pretty easily. I've applied for jobs in the field, concentrating on lab tech. I realize I need to be LDO to apply for Dispensing Optician jobs. I'm working my way to that. Will take NCLE in Nov., then the state practical. Will be working in a lab as well. I'd love to work with patients again. (I worked with them at the college, also with Remote Area Medical. Have done lab work, as well.)

Any tips for taking the ABO would be greatly appreciated. I'm worried about the math to a point.

Any words of wisdom for re-entering the field after such a long time away would also be appreciated. I realize it's a journey....

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Congratulations on the Remote Area Medical volunteerism; my wife and I retire at the end of this year and will be doing lots of RAM stuff. We've done 3 so far. Don't sweat the math. The ABO doesn't require any higher math, just arithmetic. Prentice is just multiplication, powers-in-given-meridians questions will be limited to 0-30-45-60-90 degree increments, and so forth. You'll do fine.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Orchid, PM sent.

Occupation
    Wesley S. Scott, MBA, MIS, ABOM, NCLE-AC, LDO - SC & GA