Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused? Medicine or Optometry?

Hello!
    I am currently in my third year of Optometry and have one more year to go before I graduate, however, I am having second thoughts about my degree. :( I am interested in doing LASIK so I am thinking of going into medical school and then doing a residency in Opthalmology (which is extremely competitive!). If I don't get into Ophthalmology, then I'll be a general physician and that's not really what I want to do... I'm confused!! Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
    Last edited by Dr.T; 05-11-2013, 09:38 PM.

I guess it would depend on why you are having second thoughts about optometry. What is your motivation for either optometry or ophthalmology?
    Ophthalmic Optician, Society to Advance Opticianry

Comment

Originally posted by Johns View Post
      I guess it would depend on why you are having second thoughts about optometry. What is your motivation for either optometry or ophthalmology?
      Thanks for replying!

I love optometry and I love the patients I see etc etc, but I really would like to do LASIK surgery...In order for me to do that, I would need to do a whole different degree! I'm wondering if it would even be worth it in the end. After med school, if I don't get a residency in ophthalmology, the medicine degree would be pointless (in my opinion, since I want to work in this field).

Comment

I still don't know what I wanna be when I grow up, either!

That being said............an interest in tattoing a current prescription, with, pushing a button on a rented laser.............imo is not what ophthalmology is all about. Besides, the money's not in it. See your current low buck ad in your daily paper, with do-not-pay financing till 2019.