Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Our future...

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Retail

Our future...

Hi, I'm new to the optiBoard! I've read a lot of interesting discussions and learned a lot of useful tips to better ourselves in our practice from this site. I do have one concern though: What is the future of our industry going to be 5-10 years from now?

Ever since Clearly Contacts heavily attacked our industry with their aggressive advertisements, it brought our industry down to a whole new standard. Clearly's contacts likes to brainwash our consumers with low budget frames & no name lenses creating a false impression that all eye-wear should cost the same; otherwise, the public now feel ripped off or they think they're paying for our "overhead costs".

We need to bring our standard's back by engaging our consumers with why quality matters. Why would people purchase a $500 iPad over a $200 blackberry playbook? Or a $80.00 pair of Nike shoes over $20.00 no name pair? The same theory should be applied to progressive lenses, coatings and our frames. Lets face it, we can all match Clearly's pricing on lenses...but who has to take time to explain to our patients why they're not seeing as clear? Then they will ask, "What brand was I fitted with?". Soon enough, they think they were fitted poorly, making our practice look low quality, yet that thinking never applies to the online. Our industry was built to protect our consumers ensuring they are fitted properly and maintained for years down the road. Online players are trying to destroy that.

Safilo discontinued the whole Armani collection, then gets dumped on clearly's website that introduces it as "brand new inventory & latest styles". It tries to line it up with our own frame selections that we have to sweat for to stock in our practices. I'm sick of reading articles online that our practices and optometrist's will be come extinct or shut down. Service is no longer considered valuable.