Thread: Frame Reps?

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Confused Frame Reps?

Just a general question to all you opticians out there who manage your frame boards. How often do you let the frame reps check your boards? To check for out of date stock and/or possible purchase new product? How long will you let a frame sit on your boards before you exchange it out or get rid of it?
    Thanks for any advice

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    In my experience, most reps like to come in at least once a quarter, but there are some I only see once a year. As far as exchanging, I might give a frame 6 months or more. Every so often, rep's will take back old non-movers that aren't even their own frame lines, in exchange for credit towards new product.
    Patient, ".. Doctor says I have a subscription for stigmata.. Can you fill that?"
    Me, "..Um.. "

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I managed my own boards and saw reps every quarter for top lines and less for others. New styles might get a six month trial run to watch turnover rates.

OptiBoard Professional Jamelina's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Same here...generally once a quarter or longer depending on how busy we are. And I try and exchange anything that's been sitting for six months or so.

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Java99's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Are you guys saying that you are only replacing product once a quarter as well?

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Jubilee's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I would see reps about once per quarter as well. I would generally order enough to cover, but on the few times we had a "hit" frame that moved more than I thought, or I was seeking something specific for a client, I would order additional stock between visits.