Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am living in a world I will never understand...

Ophthalmic Optician
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

I am living in a world I will never understand...

If this is where our world is headed...

http://gma.yahoo.com/elderly-woman-d...182806550.html

...then I guess this makes more sense: (??)

http://fox8.com/2013/03/03/firefight...apped-in-fire/
    Ophthalmic Optician, Society to Advance Opticianry

Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Who failed her, the stranger fearing of losing her job or her children fearing losing a second income to stay with her in her last year?

I understand the business aspect, I don't understand the humanitarian especially your own mother.

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    Quote Originally Posted by Johns View Post
    If this is where our world is headed...

http://gma.yahoo.com/elderly-woman-d...182806550.html
    As a nurse, I wonder about the legalities of not doing CPR. In most (maybe all) states licensed and registered nurses are required by law to do everything possible to sustain life in all situations. The only way this would be legal (not right, just legal) is if there is a definite DNR order that is known by all concerned. The right and proper thing for anyone to do is to try to save her.

Quote Originally Posted by Johns View Post
    ...then I guess this makes more sense: (??)

http://fox8.com/2013/03/03/firefight...apped-in-fire/
    This is wonderful. It's one of the few things that have made me happy lately.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Agreed that the nurse "could" of helped and probably "should" of helped. But when does "policy" trump protocol?
    Have to keep in mind here according to the story the lady "was taken by ambulance to the hospital where she died."
    That leads me to believe she was alive when she left the nursing home.

Banned
    Occupation
    Ophthalmic Technician