Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens comparison for patients of non-dispensing doctor's office

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field

Question Lens comparison for patients of non-dispensing doctor's office

For offices that only do exams but don't sell glasses, is there a consumer guide to steer patients to help them select a progressive lens from the popular retail outfits they will go to, even if the quality snobs here might look down on them? Or does anyone here at least have thoughts on the lenses most patients will actually be choosing from? I'm new to this and don't know how the options compare. e.g. how does the Lenscrafter Signature HD lens compare to whatever Costco, Walmart and Pearle Vision Offer? How do the different Walmart high index lenses compare? (they have Zeiss, Seiko and Nikon among others, though I don't know what models).

For comparison purpose if you want one example, consider one patient with a high prescription and some difference between the eyes, e.g.:
    O.D. -6.00 Cyl -1.50 095 Add +2.00
    O.S. -9.50 Cyl -0.75 090 Add +2.00

Thanks.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Quote Originally Posted by OpticalNewbie View Post
    For offices that only do exams but don't sell glasses, is there a consumer guide to steer patients to help them select a progressive lens from the popular retail outfits they will go toThanks.
    Yes, there is a consumer 'guide'; we call them 'Opticians'.
    What I'm saying is that this decision belongs in the hands of the person fitting the eyewear, not the one who did the eye exam...or a pamphlet.

WELCOME TO OPTIBOARD! First post and you already called us 'snobs' - still nice to have you along!

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Pssst....Tony! We got called "quality snobs"!

I agree with Tony, about the guide. You have to remember that the "flavor" brand used at some of the chains you mentioned changes with the political and economic winds!