View Poll Results: How often should a rep visit?

Voters
38. You may not vote on this poll
  • Every Month

5 13.16%
  • Every Other Month

9 23.68%
  • Every Third Month

9 23.68%
  • Other Scheduled Time

6 15.79%
  • Only when NEW product comes out

3 7.89%
  • Only when I call

6 15.79%

Thread: Sales Reps

Bad address email on file kjw1231's Avatar
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Question Sales Reps

Just wondering how often the board feels that a rep should visit an account.

Bad address email on file John R's Avatar
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

Arrow

I would say its going to depend on a few things like.
    How big the account is,
    Just what they need to do, Check boards or just sell to you,
    How keen they are to shift their products...

Bad address email on file 10 Pence Short's Avatar
    I work as a sales manager looking after a team who sell equipment to opticians.

We have recently introduced a system where our reps should make pre-arranged visits to our customer base every 6 months, even if it is only for 5 minutes to say hello.

Personally I'm not a big fan of walking in off the street unnanounced, as you guys are too busy to squeeze in 15 minutes without prior knowledge!!

It very much depends on what you're selling, of course. We have recently taken on some reps who have sold frames and they've been amazed by the difference in attitude the opticians have towards them now. Opticians seem far more disposed towards having a frinedly chat with us, I suppose because we're not always trying the hard sell on every visit.

I can only speak from experience in the UK, but professionals don't respond well to the 'hard sell', and as such we don't try use those tactics.

Personally, when the people who supply me call, I'm quite happy to listen for a few minutes- what harm can it do?

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    as John said, there are a lot of different factors......