Thread: How to calculate axial edge thickness & lift

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

How to calculate axial edge thickness & lift

Hi everyone! I'm a student, and we just started learning about RGP's. I'm having trouble figuring out how to calculate axial edge lift and axial edge thickness. Here are the parameters I have:

Tricurve -1.50D tricurve RGP
    CT = 0.14mm
    OAD/OZD: 9.0/7.8
    BCR = 7.80mm/43.25D
    n = 1.47

I do know that s1 + ET = s2 + CT, but I don't know how to calculate s1 and s2 (looked all over the internet & I couldn't find it except in blocked google books).

Thank you so much in advance!
    Last edited by ocean4787; 10-29-2011 at 08:03 AM.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I'm a bit rusty.....getting old ya know, ......but I think s1 refers to the saggital depth of optical zone, and s2 is the saggital depth of the peripheral curve.

Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Quote Originally Posted by ocean4787 View Post
    Hi everyone! I'm a student, and we just started learning about RGP's. I'm having trouble figuring out how to calculate axial edge lift and axial edge thickness. Here are the parameters I have:

CT = 0.14mm
    BCR = 7.80mm/43.25D
    n = 1.47

I do know that s1 + ET = s2 + CT, but I don't know how to calculate s1 and s2 (looked all over the internet & I couldn't find it except in blocked google books).

The base curve radius is 43.25 and the power needed is -1.50, this can be used to find the front curve power:

front curve + back curve = power
    front curve + (-43.25) = (-1.50)
    front curve = (-1.50) + 43.25
    front curve = 41.75

The front curve radius can be determined next:

front curve radius = (index - 1) / front curve
    front curve radius = 1.47 - 1 / 41.75
    front curve radius = 0.47 / 41.75
    front curve radius = 11.3mm