Thread: Passed ABO Spectacle exam now seeking PT employment Lenscrafters

cmhohioman

Passed ABO Spectacle exam now seeking PT employment Lenscrafters

I just found out recently I passed my ABO exam and will soon be licensed dispensing optician. I am currently a Registered Nurse (RN MSN) looking for part-time employment (20hrs a week) and have an interview with Lenscrafters. Not sure what to ask for in terms of pay or compensation. $20 hr?? $18 hr?? I mean...its part-time....no benefits...Please advise.

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    You gonna make a whole bunch mo' munny as an RN than you ever will as an optician anywhere.

A situation where an optician makes $35.00 an hour (unless on commission or owner of the place) is very rare. As you know an RN can easily command $60.00~$100.00 hr. Sometimes more if willing to fly in and out of certian areas where there is a shortage.

Chip
    Last edited by chip anderson; 07-04-2011 at 07:22 PM. Reason: Doan wan de boy to be disappointed

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    At LC in your area, you'd be lucky to get $15 an hour. Probably less. I'd look into private practice or tech work before climbing on the back of the retail beast.

cmhohioman