Thread: Scratches?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

Confused Scratches?

Hi there,

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to ask this, so I apologize if I'm not. In that case, could you please direct me to a place where I might be able to have this question answered?

During the summer, I purchased some nice Silhouette rimless frames from a shop here, and I was very happy with them. After a few weeks, I noticed this weird smudge only in certain conditions (dark environment with a bright light source). After inspecting my glasses carefully, I realized that there was an area of very fine scratches on the right lens that was causing the problem. I bought these glasses with the Crizal Avance with Scotchguard AR coating, so the optical shop warrants them for two years with a $20 fee for new lenses. Eventually, I decided I'd replace them because I'm a medical student and often am working in front of computers/in other conditions that cause the fine abrasions to become visible and frustrating.

Upon receiving the new pair, I didn't notice any problems, but the next morning (another time that this issue manifests) I was shocked to notice the exact same problem again, but in both lenses and right in the center of my vision this time! I had cleaned the lenses once each, and was very careful to do so very lightly with a soft cloth because I was paranoid about scratching them again.

After carefully looking at them, I noticed that the scratch pattern is actually very similar bilaterally. I've attached photos. Basically, it is a semi-circle/rainbow shape. On the right lens, the center of the circle is also scratched, but you can clearly see the same shape around the outside with a separate circle of scratches on the inside. That inner circle measures at about 8 or 9mm on both lenses, which seems to indicate some sort of mechanical cause rather than random scratches from harsh cleaning. I've had these lenses for 2 days.