pls help for this stupid question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pls help for this stupid question

Hi everyone, I am a student only, have a very stupid question to ask (for most of you)

ther is a RX and want to make it a reading glasses only RX, I know the formula is (ADD + SPH), but what abt the follow case, what is the final RX for this case?pls help

OD
    -2.25-0.50x050
    OS
    -2.25-1.00x090
    ADD
    +1.00 OU

when i do the calculation, it coome out a minus RX for a reading only RX

yes it does come out a minus Rx. Don't doubt yourself.

Comment

That is correct, since there isn't much of an add power. If there was more of an add power then it would be plus for the reading power. There is more distance power than reading power.

Comment

My guess for readers is

-1.75 +.50 x 140
        -2.25 +1.00 x 180

Comment

Originally posted by gordmac View Post
          My guess for readers is

-1.75 +.50 x 140
          -2.25 +1.00 x 180
          Why transpose?

Comment

Just thought I would throw that in for the fun of it.

Comment

You are kidding! Right! Come on, it basic algebra!

Comment

Yes, this person needs a minus correction for reading. This is why nearsighted people can read without glasses. In fact, the person with this correction probably can just remove his/her glasses for reading rather then having a special reading pair.

Comment

thank you very much for helping me out, you guys are so kind, anyway merry xmas to all of you

Comment

Originally posted by modeho View Post
                    Hi everyone, I am a student only, have a very stupid question to ask (for most of you)

ther is a RX and want to make it a reading glasses only RX, I know the formula is (ADD + SPH), but what abt the follow case, what is the final RX for this case?pls help

OD
                    -2.25-0.50x050
                    OS
                    -2.25-1.00x090
                    ADD
                    +1.00 OU