Thread: Contact lens diameter for 10 year old

Contact lens diameter for 10 year old

I'm not an eyecare professional, but I do have a question. My 10 year old daughter just got soft contacts. They are the same diameter as my wife's.
    (8.6) I am a veteran lens wearer too. Anyway, my daughter is having a tough time getting them in her eye. She tolerates them well and has the motor skills to attempt to insert them. The problem seems to be that her eyelids are tight and the available space to get the contact in is very small. I can get them in for her, but I have to really stretch her eyelids to do it. The Optician himself wasn't in when I went back to discuss this but his staff assured me that my daughter would eventually get them in. I am skeptical though. My son when he was 10 popped his in the first time easily. Can a child get a smaller diameter lens?

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    If it is a soft lens 8.6 is not the diameter, it is the inside radius. If it is a rigid lens 8.6 is a rather small diameter. With a very few exceptions the diameter is not a factor in inserting a lens. Sometimes thickness (stiffness is) most disposable brands are very flimsy, practioner might concider a thicker daily wear non-disposable.