Thread: Recycling PC lens

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

Recycling PC lens

Hi,

I'm new to this and I've started a research project trying to recycle the waste polycarbonate produced when these lens are machined down to size.

What I need to know is whether the waste material which has been cur from the back of the lense will be coated in these anti abrasion and AR coatings or are these likely to be just on the front of the lens.

I understand that commonly these lenses are dipped first and then machined. Does these mean that it will be dipped entirely, front and back and covered in the hard lacquer?

I have done some tests on the lens that i've recieved and the hardness tests are showing that the front of the lens is alot harder that the back of the lens.. this to me says that it must have been spin coated (i'm assuming that spin coating just covers the front of the lens). There are some marks on the side of the lens which look like drip marks, again i assumed that this meant that when it was sprayed only on the front that soe dripped down the sides.

Can anyone tell me are my assumptions correct. does the presence of these drip marks on the side and the lack of harnesss at the back of the lens indicate that only the front has been sprayed?

And my other question is.. if i'm right and only the front has been sprayed then am i also correct in saying that the back of the lens is pure polycarbonate and has not been touched by anything.. (eg dipped in primer of some sort and then spin coated or coated in some other way on just the front of the lens)

Sorry if this is a bit basic and long winded but I'm new to this and I'm not having alot of luck getting info from the lens manufacturers.

Thanks again

Michael

Professional Rabble-Rouser hipoptical's Avatar
    Occupation
    Hi, Michael.