Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Where do opticians make the most money?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Where do opticians make the most money?

Where do opticians make the most money? I heard Costco is the best place for opticians to work at because of high salary and wages is it true? My current wages are $13 an hour (25k/year) in NYC which SUCKS. How much do they make up in New Jersey?

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Is $13.00 the standard for opticians in NY? are you licensed? that seems low to me, I would think at least $40,000.00 a year.:)

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Quote Originally Posted by Ginster View Post
    Is $13.00 the standard for opticians in NY? are you licensed? that seems low to me, I would think at least $40,000.00 a year.:)
    i'm abo cert and have my optician license, any new yorkers in here that makes more than $13 in here? i have 5 years experiences

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Sure beats unemployment!

Quote Originally Posted by optician4022 View Post
    My current wages are $13 an hour (25k/year) in NYC which SUCKS.

Consider yourself lucky!

One of the worst people here
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Ontario pays well. But you need a college diploma

Ophthalmic Optician
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Where do opticians make the most money?
    The most money, or the best money?

You can find high paying jobs at many chains, but there's a reason why they pay so much, and why they hire so often...

I think it's hard to beat working for yourself, even though you can usually make more money somewhere else. I know of many folks that make more than I do that work for MDs, but many don't seem happy.
    Ophthalmic Optician, Society to Advance Opticianry

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Optometrist