Thread: Kodak Unique vs. Shamir Auotgraph II in real world!

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Blue Jumper Kodak Unique vs. Shamir Auotgraph II in real world!

I have been using free form lenses for many years with great success and wanted to see if a patient could tell the difference between a Unique in trivex and an Autograph II in trivex transitions. History has taught us that people see better out of free form and it is enhanced by using trivex.
    The patient is a +3.00 -.75 with a 2.50 add; she is a previously happy patient wearing an original Pentax Perfas in 1.67 from a few years ago.

Upon dispensing she was asked a number of questions about her visual experience wearing either lens; she loved them both and could not really tell the difference. Both products gave her crisp distance with the ability to read the 20/20 on the Zeiss reading card. We spent a good 10 minutes trying to find any apsects of either product that were an advantage or noticeable to the wearer.

She thought both products gave her the best vision she has ever had and either progressive design gave her a similiar feel and she could not tell the difference in any area.

I had done the same thing years ago with the Pentax Perfas and a Zeiss Individual; the patient response was the same, either pair gave him the best vision he has ever had and he could not pick one design over another.

If a quality product is fit properly, the patient satisfaction should be similiar with like technology.

I support the best technology that is delivered in a timely manner at a fair price; that is the best lens in the market. It also has to be available in the materials, size and curve needed.

No wonder it has taken so long for free form to catch on in the US.

Craig

I need the large font as I need my first progressive and have been too lazy to get an eye exam.

One of the worst people here
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field