Thread: Edger Problems

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

Confused Edger Problems

I'm just seeing if anyone has had any experience with an Essilor Triumph edger. I have been running a lab using one for about 2 years and I haven't really had any problems with it untill yesterday. All of a sudden it started acting funny. When it starts grinding the lens it acts like its afraid to let the lens touch the grinding wheel in one spot on the lens. It happens randomly as I cut jobs. It kind of seems like it miscalculates how far down it has to go and backs off. I have replaced what is called the reproducer and it didn't seem to do anything. Now the really weird thing about it is that it only happens with hard lenses (polycarbonate or trivex) but never does with plastic lenses. I have a few ideas on what it could be. I'm thinking it might be either an electrical problem or my grinding wheel might be dull. Kind of stuck because I called the manufacturer and they said it was something that I'm sure it wasnt (the ground sensor for the reproducer). If anyone has any idea what is causing this I would really really really appreciate the input, I am really stumped.

Thanks, Josh

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    It may not be the ground sensor, but that is what I was going to say.
    Mainly I would say to clean it with alcohol and check for burn marks just to make sure that it ISN'T the problem.

And now I have exhausted my limited knowledge.:bbg:

Master OptiBoarder OptiBoard Silver Supporter Barry Santini's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Look for lens slag (from polys) that may be limiting travel of the lens head.
    Has anyone opened it up recently?

Barry

Occupation

an idea