Thread: unfair treatment lenscrafters

OptiBoard Novice

Confused \unfair treatment lenscrafters

I am currently a lab manager with lenscrafters and have 23 years of experience including a general manager for pearle and owned my own business.I was under the understanding that when my current g.m.left I would be promoted to g.m.You can imagine my surprise when I had an unusual 2 days off in a row and apon my return a store associate told me our regional director had promoted our retail manager with a total of 3 years experience to g.m.She is approx. 10 years younger and a female (i am 46)of the 23 stores in our region only 4 have male g.ms.I am A B O certified and she is not,I have an AA degree and she does not, I have been to optician school(nostra) she has not.Can someone please help me make sense of this decision.I have no disciplinary action and exceeds expectations evaluations.I wont even mention the derogatory page of men jokes that were hanging in the lab after this decision. What would you do/

Bad address email on file optigoddess's Avatar
    I am curious as to :
    1) how long have you been with the company ?

2) who told you that you would be promoted? Was this the gm, RDO, RQC ?

3) What , if anything, do you have in writing (such as on your review, regional manpower planning, career development plan etc) that substantiates the fact that you were "promotable" ?

Just curious & "all too familiar with LensCrafters...."

Karen

Objection! OptiBoard Gold Supporter shanbaum's Avatar
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Thumbs up What would I do?

I would contact the Regional Director and discuss my concerns with her.

I mean, him or her.