Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finishing lab help and advice... please :)

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Finishing lab help and advice... please :)

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, so please forgive me it I place it in the wrong place!

I need advice please. I am a certified optician who trains other people in a classroom environment. My experience is ALL classroom. I have a few wonderful people in the optics world who help me, that is how I was turned onto this board.

My program is starting a finishing lab. I have had a bit of experience, but I am not an expert on the equipment. I am wanting to know what you all think would be the best purchases for my lab. In the begining the jobs will be few, but over the next year we will be given more work and the work load will increase for the students.

I have been looking at a Santinelli 9000 or the 7070 for my patternless edger. They come in a package with a blocker and a groover (in the case of the 7070). I have been given mixed reviews and as I stated I am not an expert.

Can you all please make suggestions? I will not need lensometers, as I have 12 already and I already have a hand stone. So I am trying to get the basic finishing lab equipment.

Your assistance and kindness is greatly apperciated! I hope you all have a nice day :)

Kpshann

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Contact a fellow Optibrder=OpticLabRat.

His company, Vision Systems, has what you need. Leo is a respected member and proud sponsor of Optiboard!

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Thanks Fezz!

He is actually the person I have talked to about the 7070 and 9000. It is good to hear he is super respected! Have you ever used the Santinelli?

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Contact member opticlabrat (Leo), and he will hook you up with equipment, and train you how to use it.

www.patternless.com
    866-934-1030