Thread: My fingers hurt!

Occupation
    Optometrist

Crier My fingers hurt!

Help. I'm trying to put lenses in a new frame. The frame is a Lulu Guinness that has a 3/4 metal eyewire and 1/4 open at the temporal edges. The lens is a rimless groove and there is nylon suspension wire at the "open" temporal edges.

This frame is like an oval "C" shape: lots of metal eyewire and little open area. I can't get the "shim" underneath the very tight nylon wire and I can't separate the eyewire from the lens edge to get a gap, either.

Any tricks other than cutting the wire?

Thanks. I'm typing this with my toes.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    you described it well, but I am not good with description, need a visual, so I would suggest calling Tura, they used to have an optician on duty that could answer questions like that. Good Luck

Manuf. Lens Surface Treatments
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Redhot Jumper Make a strip.................

If you have some packing tape fold it into a strip about 5mm wide, insert the lenses and then pull the nylon string with the strip into the groove. Then pull out the strip very carefully.

Occupation
    Optometrist
    Here's what we did:

The only thing we could achieve is the dangerous "pop-out" action. If you use one of those tough, white "shims" that are often supplied by frame manufacturers (like used for indestructable bands with shipping boxes) and try to insert it "horizontally", that is, the long "lateral edge" going in, instead of an "end", you can push very hard on the shim without it bending (you just crease the heck out of your pollux), and it will eventually wedge between the lens and the metal eyewire, facilitating pop-out.

Great-looking frame...great lens retention. Not so fun.

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    agreed, I hate it when you "crease the heck out of your pollux"

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano