Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OD's what undergrad degree did you have? HELP

Banned
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Big Smile OD's what undergrad degree did you have? HELP

I'm going to a four year I want to become an Optometrist but don't know what to major in during my undergrad, please help! What did you OD's majored in during undergrad? and what bachelor? is it possible to have a bachelor degree of criminal justice with pre-med courses and still get into Optometry school?

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

quick answer: doesn't matter

My degree is in Environmental Science. But really, as long as you have the pre-reqs, it doesn't matter. Major in something you like.

Even more important, make sure that being an OD is exactly what you want to do. Shadow and talk to talks. It is a big investment of time and money, but can be very rewarding. There are much easier ways to make money...

-Nate
    Bright Eyes Family Vision Care
    http://brighteyesnews.wordpress.com/

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    In over 33 years, the biggest problem area I've seen of OD's is business. If I were going for an undergrad that would help me run my office it would be a business degree, hands down.

Rising Star OptiBoard Silver Supporter
    Occupation
    Optometrist
    I would suggest taking some business courses as well as all the requirements.

Similarly, after graduation you may be working in some less than ideal situations, not exactly what you had your heart set on. Make sure you visit with several different modes of practice (mall setting, walmart, private practice). Also, I'd start reading up on the medical system in the US and where it is headed. Make sure you are doing all this for the right reasons.

good luck

Master OptiBoarder
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Our OD has a BA in anthropology, minor in math. Hated chemistry and biology. Great dr.