Thread: Spider web crack on AR coating.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

Spider web crack on AR coating.

I am a newbie in this field. I was bother by a problem which is quite important related to AR quality. I was coating the CR39 with thermal cured tintable hardcoat applied on it with SiO2 and ZrO2. the quality of the lenses are not consistent and i found some of the lens have spider web cracks. Can anyone give me any opinion or advices on this problem.

AR process is done with ion-assisted vacuum coater, however, i just apply the ion source for pre-cleaning purpose and it doesn't really involve in the coating process.
    I was told by some other people that used to work in this field and they told me it might be the problem of the moisture that trapped on the surface of the hardcoated lens. Is it really the source of the problem? or any others?
    Please advice!
    Last edited by hean; 11-04-2007 at 10:48 AM.

Manuf. Lens Surface Treatments
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

Blue Jumper humidity

Quote Originally Posted by hean View Post
    ...............it might be the problem of the moisture that trapped on the surface of the hardcoated lens. Is it really the source of the problem? or any others?
    You are in a very humid climate.

CR29 is a very porous material and there is a possibility of trapped moisture. The cure for this is very simple place the lenses in an oven for 30-60 minutes at 110C before hard coating. That should evaporate all humidity from the lens pores.If that dont help look for further causes.

Occupation
    Optical Laboratory Technician

kind of defect

Hello Hean,
    I'm very curious, can you explain me what is the really shape of defect?
    This defect is the same on positive and negative lenses ? In the same position ?
    AR questions:
    .) which kinds of materials are involved in AR process ??