Thread: Factoring Torsional prismatic effect for Slab Off?

Occupation
    Optometrist

Factoring Torsional prismatic effect for Slab Off?

Hello all,

I have been wondering since I started playing around with torsional prismatic effects of lenses, would it be prudent to alter the horizontal component of a the near segment (prism seg, or decentering by grinding Dist OC differently and playing with Dec) in some cases.

Example

OD -4.00 SPH
    OS +2.00 -4.00 x 45
    Add +3.00

the imbalance between the two lenses is 4D @90, so you can calculate the Slab off easily.

My question stems from the HORIZONTAL prismatic effect of the OS as you move down into the Seg. Since the power @ 90 using sin^2 method is 'plano', there is no Vertical power/prism to speak of. BUt there is a substantial Horizontal displacement (or torsional component) which is noticable. Theoretically shouldn't we also adjust the spectacles (either adjust placement of the seg, or use a horiz prism seg )to minimize the effect of the Horizontal effect as well?

Just wondering.

Thanks

AA
    Last edited by Aarlan; 06-23-2007 at 10:16 AM.

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    I'm only a pseudo expert, but in my experience when the eyes converge for reading the brain can tolerate a lot more horizontal image displacement than vertical. If it were otherwise Executive bifocals would not work in large frames (I still have bad memories from the 80's because of bad glasses like that). That said when you reach a certain point somewhere around 7 to 12 diopters you do need to address the induced horizontal prism with either a prism seg or a Franklin seg. Although I've never tried adjusting the location of the seg to compensate, it sounds like a workable idea, depending on how much you have to move the seg.
    The variables affecting the 7 to 12diopters range are
    • Age. A younger patient can tolerate more the an older patient