Thread: No Glasses from Great Glasses

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

No Glasses from Great Glasses

Hi everybody this is my first time Post.

As for my story I just recently went to 3 for 1 Great glasses to purchase some new frames and lenses, just to save a buck, hey cant turn down there $100.00 COUPON.

As for my story I have very bad eye sight My prescription below

OD +10.00 sphere,-225 Cylinder,120 Axis, +125 Add
    OS + 9.00 sphere,-125 Cylinder, 60 Axis, +125 Add

I did my research and found that Essilor carries a SV AS TL1.74 Crizal Alize for my prescription, hey I want the thinnest I can get, if anything better please let me know.

So I went to Great Glasses picked out 3 frames and asked for Essilor 1.74 Lenses. They said not a problem. I asked them to write it on the invoice that those are the lenses I will be getting. Paid with Visa a total of $754.00. One week wait.

That day I get a phone call saying that they cannot get my lenses, but they can get Nikon Lenses so I said OK if in 1.74 Index.

Half Hour later they call me and say they want an extra $300.00. I said No I felt I am being ripped off by now. I said I need my glasses.

Half later again they call and said that we cant even get the Nikon Lenses in your prescription. They said they stopped making the Essilor Lens 8 months ago in the 1.74 Index. So I said hold on and let me call Essilor. I was 4:00pm they said if we dont here from you by 5:00pm we are going to refund your money.

I called Essilor they said they do carry the lenses and asked for a fax of proof, My fax from Essilor showed they carried the lenses, so I faxed the copy before 5:00pm to Great Glasses saying hey you can get them.

Great Glasses called me back and said these lenses have to be made in Portugal and will take 3 weeks, plus they wanted now an extra $350.00 for each pair. Where is my 3 for 1 great glasses. $1800.00 fro three pairs somethings wrong.