Thread: Aphakia and aspherics! Could you help?

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Question Aphakia and aspherics! Could you help?

Hi,

I am a DO student and I would like to ask for your advice regarding a topic about aphakia. I have a case of a patient with aphakia for which i have to mention the best possible spec solutions. I have done my research and I have decided what to propose, however there is a thing that troubles me and for which I couldn't find a solution everywhere I looked. That is a difference in the prescription of 1.50DS between the two eyes (main portion). The position of the NVP below the optical centre of the main portion is not given. If I propose aspheric bifocals (e.g Essilor Omega - Orma 1.5 or the aspheric lenticular) how would any differential prism be treated on these bifocals? Is slab-off a valid technique for aspheric surfaces? What happens if aphakia is related with anisometropia in general? (I have to provide only spec solutions).
    Sorry if my question is stupid (perhaps that is why I could find nothing in the books) but I would appreciate an answer even if that happens to be the case. (very).

Occupation
    Lens Manufacturer
    Speaking strictly from a textbook point of view.

If this is not a bifocal then you really do not need a slab-off.

The NVP is about 10mm from the DVP so if this power difference is in the 90th meridian then you could use a slab-off, but since the lens is aspheric you need to put it on the back.

C-10
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

opening a can of worms

The one think you have to consider if this person is wearing aphakia eyewear now and they do not have a slab off now I would be hesitate about doing one you may just open a hole new can of worms. Fill the new Rx as close to the old one if possible.

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Thank you very much

Thank you very much for your kind reply,

Both advice is very useful to me and will definitely use.