Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vertex distance question

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Vertex distance question

Hi all,
    This is my first post, so please be kind (I graduated 5 years ago, so my ophthalmic optics knowledge is a little rusty).

With the vertex compensation formula Dc=D/(1-dD) where Dc is the compenssated rx, D is the original rx and d is the vertex change, how would I adjust it in a non-air medium (eg if I submerged the lens in water)?

Thanks in advance
    steff

Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    If you break the equation down into it's parts it can easily be worked:

Dc= Compensated Rx
    Dp= Dioptric Power
    Dv= Vergence Change
    nr= Index of Refracting Medium
    ni= Index of Incident Medium
    r= Radius of Curvature

Dc=Dp/(1-dDp)
    Dc=Dp/1 - Dp/dDp
    Dc=Dp - 1/d

Dc=Dp-Dv

Dp=(nr-ni)/r
    Dv=ni/d

Now that we hav the 2 components of our equation the Dioptric power minus the vergence change we can modify these

Dc= (nr-1.33)/r - 1.33/d

1.33 is aproximately the index of water.
    Last edited by HarryChiling; 03-14-2007 at 12:29 AM.
    1st* HTML5 Tracer Software
    1st Mac Compatible Tracer Software
    1st Linux Compatible Tracer Software

*Dave at OptiVision has a web based tracer integration package that's awesome.

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Thanks!

so does the first part of the last equation (n-1.33)/r come from the whole F=(n'-n)/r equation, and do I need to apply this formula if my compensated rx (Dc) is already in water, or does it just become
    Dc=D-1.33/d?

Thanks

steff
    Last edited by steff; 03-14-2007 at 12:29 AM.

Occupation
    I just edited the equation slightly to better illustrate, yes it is from the same equation you quoted. You do need to compensate the two components seperately. Otherwise the you are compensateing the vergence portion in water and taking that away from the lens part which is in air. Hope that makes sense.