Thread: information

OptiBoard Novice
    I am two years in Auckland, New Zealand.
    Before coming to New Zealand I have been working as a Dispensing Optician for 9 years. I got a Dispensing Optician degree in 1991. Now I have intention to practice as a Dispensing Optician here as well. I already have a Registration pack from the Optician's Board. Usually registration for people having overseas diplomas takes a long time and carries a lot of complications. I also found something about training to be a Dispensing Optician, OTEN (the Open Training and Education Network). As I expect to have some exams anyway, and I was thinking that a new course may will be a better idea. In optical dispensing course I have attended in Croatia I passed all of the modules described in OTEN Course overview except one – Contact Lenses. Shortly, my doubt is to try to register or to start course all over again.
    I am very keen to practice as a Dispensing Optician again because that is a job I like most of all other jobs and while I was practicing it overseas I have been very good at it. It is also very important that I have an excellent sense working with customers and gratify theirs wishes.
    I hope somebody can give me some advice and may be suggest who I should contact next?
    Thanks a lot!

------------------

OptiBoardaholic
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Jasmina,
    Sorry for the delay in replying to this message, but I have been on the road. I look after the OTEN course you mentioned and am currently on my way to Auckland as I write this message. Please email me directly and I will give you all the details you need. Or reply to this message and I will contact you on my return to my office in a week's time.
    Regards
    David Wilson

Banned
    Only City in the World built over a Volcano
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Redhot Jumper