Thread: Lens Questions: What Sunglasses To Order For Retinal problems

Bad address email on file

Hello:

I'm a retired optical engineer, but am still having a hard time obtaining information on the following. If anyone has a spare few minutes, would be most appreciative for any wisdom on the following:

I have significant retinal problems in both eyes, so am really concerned about UV protection.

a. My first question concerns CR-39 for the polarized, single vision, prescription, sunglasses I wish to order:

Is the clear catalytic dye used to extend the UV A and UV B absorptions to
    approx. 400nm "usually" added to the monomer when they make the plastic
    sheets, or is it just a surface coating on the front or rear surface (or I guess another possibility might be inside the sandwich where the polarized sheet is located)?

b. Do ordered lenses automatically come this way with the UV protection(s)?

c. Can I safely assume that any prescription sunglasses I order will be
    CR-39 or polycarbonate, and not acrylic?

d. Same question as (a) for Polycarbonate and/or Glass lenses.

e. Is it worth it in your opinion trying to find someone to make them out
    of Polycarbonate for me rather than CR-39(for their UV protection, if truly better)?

f. Or, in Glass? (is there any/much UV A and UV B protection inherent in
    the basic glass usually used?)

g. Any strong pro and con opinions on the Photochromic type of lenses?
    Do they work well in cars?
    I am asking as I believe they work on UV, and the cars glass would cut out a significant amount of UV, I would think?

It seems they also come now in plastic (I'm not sure which) and glass.
    Particularly wondering about the UV A and UV B protection they afford?

Unofficially, are the Maui Jims and Action Optics worth the very high $$$ costs, in your opinion?